• 1 (910) 722-5000
  • P.O. Box 936 Carthage, NC 28327

Jury Duty Information

Jury Duty

Every two years, a three person Jury Commission supervises the compilation of a master jury list of county residents who are registered voters, licensed drivers, or both. Persons selected for jury duty are selected at random from the master list.

Yes. Jury service is the solemn obligation of all qualified citizens. Failure to comply with this Summons is punishable by fine, imprisonment, or both.

To be eligible to serve as a juror you must meet the following qualifications:

1) You must be a citizen and resident of Moore County, North Carolina

2) You must be 18 year of age or older

3) You must be physically and mentally competent

4) You must be able to hear and understand the English language

5) You must not have been convicted of a felony or pled no contest to a felony unless you have had your citizenship restored pursuant by law

6) You must not have been adjudged incompetent

7) You must not have served on a jury within the last 2 years

Excuses from jury service will be granted only for reasons of compelling personal hardship or because requiring service would be contrary to public welfare, health, or safety. Applications for excuse from jury service must be made by submitting a written request to the Chief District Court Judge no later than 10 days before the first day of service.

Any person summoned as a juror who is age 72 or older may establish exemption from jury duty without appearing in person by providing the ground or reason for their exemption, and forwarding to the Chief  District Court Judge at least 5 working days before the date summoned to appear.  G.S.9-6.1

An  application to be excused or deferred from jury service is printed on the back of your Summons. This may be mailed with supporting documentation to:

Chief District Court Judge
Post Office Box 936
Carthage, North Carolina 28327

Jurors should report to the Moore County Courts Facility Building, as instructed on your summons. If you have instructions to call ahead attached to your summons, please follow the instructions on the automated system

Parking Information:  Free parking is available at the parking lot on Ray St., directly across from the U.S. Post Office and beside the Carthage Presbyterian Church.

North Carolina law provides for the compensation of citizens who are called for jury service at the rate of $12 for day one of service. You will be paid $20 for each day of service, day 2-5.  If you are seated on a trial and serve for more than 5 days, you will be paid $40 for every day after those first 5 days. The Clerk of Superior Court will mail you a check for the appropriate amount.

North Carolina law prohibits employers from firing or demoting an employee because they serve as a juror. However, the law does not require that the employee be paid in full while serving.

Bring a book, crossword puzzles, or other materials to occupy your time. While efforts will be made by the Court to reduce delays in trial starts and to avoid long waiting periods for you, some waiting time should be anticipated while jurors are chosen to sit on a jury.

You should dress comfortably, but not too casually. Dress for Court as if you were going to work or to church. Many judges do not allow anyone to come to court wearing halter or tank tops, cut-off jeans, shorts, or shirts with offensive wording. Remember you will be acting as part of the Court while serving as jurors, so dress appropriately. Also, you might want to wear layered clothing since courtroom temperatures may vary considerably, requiring the removal or addition of a sweater or jacket.

If you are seated for a trial, you must serve until the trial ends, which may be two days to several weeks. Most jurors, however, only serve for one or two days.

In an emergency, you may be contacted through the Clerk of Superior Court’s office, at 910-722-5000.
The court staff will make certain that you get the message.

It is extremely rare for a jury to be "sequestered" or kept in a hotel during a trial. You should expect that you will be allowed to go home at the end of each court day.

When you report to the Courthouse, you will be shown an orientation video that explains what to expect as a juror. You will also be given additional information from the court staff. Then all jurors present will take an oath as jurors and be given a red juror badge to wear until they are released from jury duty by the judge. Once a trial begins, the judge will instruct you on your duties as a juror.

When your name is randomly drawn to take a numbered seat in the jury box at the start of a trial, the attorneys will ask you questions about yourself. If your answers to questions lead the attorneys or the judge to feel that you could not be objective in considering the evidence in this trial, you will be dismissed with the Court’s thanks.